Artificial Intelligence

Artificial Intelligence, Data Visualisation and Leadership Virtual Speaking Events June and Jul 2020

I’m excited to announce that I’m speaking on various topics in July 2020 and here is a roundup. I am speaking on Leadership, Artificial Intelligence and Data Visualisation.

Leadership Sessions

I am presenting on agile leadership for the Remote First Enterprise. This tweetjam is in conjunction with HCL Technologies #OneHCL and CIO Straight Talk on June 25th at 11AM EDT. This is a tweetjam and it will be presented in real time on Twitter with CIO Straight Talk and HCL Technologies. I am also presenting for the Data and AI South Florida User Group on Convincing your HiPPo with data on Wednesday 15th July at 5.30pm BST, 12.30pm EST. Registration details to follow.

Reinventing Agile for the Remote-First Enterprise (Thursday June 25th at 11AM EDT, 4PM BST, 8AM PDT).

During the COVID-19 pandemic, technologies are playing a crucial role in keeping our society functional in a time of lockdowns and quarantines. Technology cannot necessarily prevent the onset of pandemics; however, it can help prevent a breakdown of business operations and people’s loss of their livelihoods. The COVID-19 crisis is causing structural shifts that will reshape organizations’ digital frameworks in the new normal of remote working.

This is a tweetjam and it will be presented in real time on Twitter with CIO Straight Talk and HCL Technologies.

Convincing Your HiPPo: Business Statistics for AI and Data Science (Wednesday 15th July at 12.30pm EST, 5.30pm BST)


To be successful and confident for working AI and Data Science, it’s important to have a grasp of statistics. How can you tell if your models are good? How can you communicate your results to business-oriented people? In a world where the HiPPO’s (Highest Paid Person’s Opinion) is final, how can we use technology and data to drive the organisation towards data-driven decision making as part of their organizational DNA? R provides a range of functionality in machine learning, but we need to expose its richness in a world where it is made accessible to decision makers.


In this session, we will use R and AzureML technologies in order to explore and analyse data using machine learning and statistical packages functionality, and we will look at our results and how we can interpret them. Then, we will look at how we disseminate the results to the HiPPO audience, using best practices in data visualisation and R, informed by gurus such as Stephen Few and Edward Tufte.

Artificial Intelligence Sessions

Hybrid Virtual Chapter my friend and colleague Mark Broadbent is the owner of the PASS Hybrid Chapter. I’ll be talking about AzureML on Thursday 18th June at 7pm BST.

AzureML for Business Intelligence Professionals (Thursday 17th June at 7pm BST, 3PM EDT, 12PM PDT)

Ever thought about moving into AI but not sure how? In this session, we will cover AzureML as a low-code, no-code solution. Then, we wil dive deeper into the AzureML SDK for Python so we can see how to use AzureML to its full potential. Join this session to get started with Machine Learning from the Business Intelligence perspective.

Exam Cram: DP100 Designing and Implementing a Data Science Solution on Azure

In this expert Talk, I will go in-depth on what to expect for the exam Designing and Implementing a Data Science Solution on Azure (DP 100). The talk starts with a review of the exam skills and what is measured, and then will step through each of the objectives and quickly review the key points of the exam as well as sample questions to help test your knowledge in each area.

The event is in partnership with Skill Me Up and it takes place at 11AM CST. You can check out the time in your timezone here.

Data Visualisation Sessions

I’m delighted to be speaking for LondonR courtesy of the Mango team on 23rd June at 6pm BST. Register at the LondonR website to attend the free online event.

I am also presenting for the Power BI group in Sri Lanka on 30th June at 12.30PM BST. Registration details to follow.

The Data Visualisation Coffee Problem: Be a Dataviz Barista! (Tuesday 23rd June at 6pm BST, 1pm EDT, 10am PDT).

Data Visualisation is like ordering a coffee in your favourite coffee shop. Everyone wants a coffee, how they like it, and they are very fussy about how they have it. Oh, and they want it yesterday.
Data Visualisation has the same problem for data scientists. When you start creating charts and graphs, you soon find that everyone has different ideas about what makes the perfect data visualisation. How do you know what option to choose, out of the myriad of options available? And who clears up the mess? This session will look at data visualization theory and practice of hot data visualization topics and we will have tips and tricks in R so you are a dataviz barista by the end of the session. Topics include:
– how can you choose which chart to choose, and when? – how can you best structure your dashboard? – what about pie charts? What is the fuss about, and when are they best used? – Colour blindness – how can you cater for the 1 out of 12 colour blind males (and not forgetting the 1 out of 100 colour blind females?) – To 3D or not to 3D? – Are dataviz ‘sprinkles’ adding anything to the data visualisation?And any other data visualization topics you care to mention! Come along for dataviz fun, and to learn the ‘why’ along with practical advice on R.
Oh, and bring your coffee, how you like it!

Style and Substance: How to build and implement a Style Guide with Power BI for effective collaboration 
Sri Lankan Power BI Group remote webinar, registration details to follow. (Date: Tuesday 30th June at 5pm Sri Lanka Time (IST), 12.30pm BST, 7.30am EDT, 4.30am PDT).

Abstract:In this session, we will look at how we can design and implement a data visualisation Style Guide for all types of organisations. We will look at how we can visually tell a story with good design principles, and how to design your own Style Guide to ensure consistency when working in a team. We will look at examples – both good and bad – of data visualization and how they can be improved with a Style Guide at hand.

I look forward to ‘seeing’ you at one of these sessions!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.